Get To Know Malik

·

2 min read

Introduction

Hey there, I'm Olatunbosun Abdulmalik Olaosebikan, you can call me Malik. I am an Outreachy intern with Public Lab as a developer.

My interests lie in technology, finance, self-development, and psychology. I keep up with these fields by reading books and articles and listening to podcasts about them.

My Core Values

My core values are Curiosity, Determination, and Growth.

I've always been curious, since I was a kid, I've always questioned everything, and I always wanted to know the how's and why's of everything. My most recent how was, how spiders hear sounds after I came across one in my home. It'll please you to know that spiders sense vibrations with tiny sensitive hairs which move in response to sound. Cool, right? not so much when they're on our bodies. haha.

Determination, this, to me, translates to wanting anything bad enough. I believe in living intentionally, and one needs to be determined to live intentionally. I would direct you to the second chapter of my current read (Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill), this chapter talks about desire but there's a chunk of determination in it. You should check it out if you haven't, and if you have tell me what you think in the comments.

Growth is one of life's constants if you ask me. It is another value I hold dear, I endeavor to indulge in growth-centered engagements alongside fostering growth in all areas, especially in my immediate surroundings.

To sum it all up, out of curiosity, and with an overflow of determination and a growth mindset, I do believe myself to be unstoppable in whatever I set myself to. Just give me time.

Outreachy - My Motivaiton

After deciding to take my programming career seriously, at the end of December 2021, I began practicing and got into several communities where I heard about OSS and Outreachy. I was quite doubtful of my prospects but I was curious and I gave it a shot. Here I am writing my first blog post as an Outreachy Intern.

Conclusion

I am grateful for the opportunity with Outreachy and Public Lab. I plan to do my best for the program.